Days Gone By…

Union Hardware & Supply Company began operations in 1908 at 42 East Main Street. It was owned by Thomas J. and James R. Heichel and George D. and Alvin N. Myers. In later years, Robert M. and Guy C. Heichel operated the store until they closed its doors in 1971. The store offered a complete line of hardware, paint, sporting goods, and other miscellaneous items.

One of the goals of the Ashland County Historical Society is to educate our community about the people and events that have shaped our history. This page will be updated periodically with photos that commemorate and honor the important people, places and events that have contributed to our county’s rich history. Many of these photos are taken from the books written by Chris Box, Director of the Ashland County Historical Society. The books, "Images of America, Ashland" and "Postcard History Series, Ashland," are available in our gift shop.